Sixth Form Awards Evening

By 16 February 2023February 20th, 2023No Comments
The Whitehaven Golf Club played host on Thursday 2nd February to the annual West Lakes Academy Sixth Form awards evening.
Students, staff, families and governors joined together for the celebratory event, which acknowledged students who have excelled over the last two years in the academy’s sixth form.
At the event 32 awards were handed out including accolades for services to the academy, overcoming adversity and excelling in each subject area.
Notable winners from the evening included Albany Smith, Lawrie Walker, Maddi Hawthorne, Sophie Price, Amber Lewitt, Christina Smith and Luke Pae who all won two awards.
The Principal’s award went to Grace Haggart with Sean Looney receiving the Governors’ award. Esme Ashbrook, Maddi Hawthorne and Christina Smith all received Head of Year awards, whilst Tilly Kay Fillingham received the Services to the Academy award.
Di Brown, Pastoral Head of Sixth form said: “What an amazing night we had and it was wonderful to all be together to share in this event; the atmosphere was lovely. We are so very proud of our students and the annual awards evening provided a fitting tribute to those students who go above and beyond not just in their studies but in academy life too. It was a fantastic night, the students all enjoyed themselves and it was lovely to see so many staff attend to celebrate alongside the students and their families as we recognised the students’ hard work and dedication.”
Guests were entertained by pianist and academy student Finlay Forrester and enjoyed a two course dinner before students were presented with their awards by the teachers who had nominated them.
For more photos from the evening please visit the WLA Facebook page.